Robert Pattinson Talks His ‘New Awareness,’ Johnny Depp

Robert Pattinson says in a new interview that his whirlwind rise to fame as a result of the “Twilight” films has given him a “new awareness” about the need to separate his career from his personal life. He admires actor Johnny Depp who is “winning the battle” to be judged by his work.

Rob just finished promoting the latest in the vampire series “The Twilight Saga: Eclipse.” When the movie opened in Japan, he was interviewed by Movie Star magazine, a Japanese publication that asked Rob about how his fame has changed him.

The interview has been roughly translated here.

One thing is certain, Rob says, he needs to be sure to live his own life.

“It’s true that I was put in a place where I had to be more mindful and take more responsibility for everything,” he says of his “Twilight” fame.

“I couldn’t just be aimless. Also, my career has finally moved in a positive direction and I’ve tried to make a bit of progress, thanks
to the fact that I’ve had the time to think about a lot of things.

“Life itself is now free of the anguish that I felt in my past,” when he was a struggling actor and unsure whether he would succeed in his chosen career.

“I’m also now aware of just how lucky I am. I think that’s why I can enjoy it more and be more aware of what’s interesting to me and experience it all,” he says.

Sometimes when success comes quickly some might feel a sense of unworthiness, or harbor feelings of guilt, that somehow they don’t deserve the success they’ve achieved. But Rob says he doesn’t feel guilty about his success; just extremely lucky.

” A sense of guilt? No. I just think it’s luck. I’ve just wanted to get the most out of all my opportunities and build a long career,” he says.

“That’s why now I have my feet firmly planted on the ground and I try to concentrate on the work I’m getting and try to enjoy the situation I’m in with out getting bothered by all the stuff that’s happening around me,” he explains.

“After all, the most important thing to me as a human and as a professional is to evolve.”

Rob’s rapid rise to enormous popularity has also generated a fair share of critics, who question whether his acting skills merit the attention he’s getting.

He says he wants nothing more than to be evaluated for his work, and goes out of his way to avoid the “celebrity” aspect of his newfound fame.

‘The majority of people who are criticized by the public for this and that are the people who are constantly putting themselves in the public eye,” he says, trying to explain.

‘So I guess that means I could say that it’s better not to show one self in public too much. I’d like to think that if you work hard to make high quality movies then you won’t be evaluated as a ‘meaningless celebrity,’ but rather by other factors.

“If you’re seen as a celebrity, then it becomes more difficult to be evaluated based on the level of excellence of the movies you’re acting,” he says.

He cites as an example, actor Johnny Depp, who Rob says has been “winning the battle” to be judged by his work and not by celebrity alone.

“He’s the kind of person you can’t evaluate based on image right? The object of evaluation is always his acting skills.

“That requires a lot of self-discipline, and the ability to hide from the public eye has also become important. You just have to get used to that.”

And, in ten years, where does he see himself?

“I’ll probably think that I should have enjoyed everything more during this completely amazing moment in my life. But it’s just now that I’ve finally begun to be able to really enjoy everything.”

Source

Posted on August 26, 2010, in interviews, Johnny Depp, Robert Pattinson and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

